Vincent Motron

Vincent Motron

7 fans

Paris (75), France
12 works

It is the sight that thinks and feels - Karel Teige

My work is a conversation with images. He questions their mystery. The method consists in comparing a heterogeneous corpus of images from the most common printed media (magazines, postcards, vernacular and illustrated photographs, etc.).
 To work to disrupt their internal coherence, to focus on a texture, to be convinced by a printing screen. Operate by semantic shift and visual discontinuity, create a critical tension between the immediacy of the form and its polysemic richness.

The weaving of these gaps forms the structure of the staging of a visual proposition whose lines of force, the arrangement of forms and the arrangement of signs organize integrity. At the end of the creative process is a device that would like to stimulate the gaze before flattering the eye, and whose use would be an exchange of thoughts and sensations.

Instead of the notion of collage, I prefer the notion of assembly. It better describes my way of working and my objectives summarized by this word from V. Amiel: "It is the very value of images that is modified by their proximity" (Aesthetics of the montage). In addition, the assembly concept suggests a distance from the collage such as that between photography and painting. That is why my gesture will have a greater affinity with Hannah Höch, Max Bucaille or Toshiko Okanoue than with the collages of Picasso, Matisse or Schwitters.

Vincent Motron has been a regular visitor to the images for a long time. In addition to taking some art lessons, he studied art history and the science of librarians and archivists. He has also been an iconographer and graphic designer.
Currently, he lives on the French west coast a few miles from the ocean.

2013 - Starter Gallery - Paris

2014 - Salon d’Art Affordable - Paris

Vincent Motron's artwork

Soledad
Soledad
$276
Digital Prints (17 x 23 in)
Land 2
Land 2
$254
Digital Prints (17 x 23 in)
Sans titre 8
Sans titre 8
$331
Collage (17 x 23 in)
Omega point
Omega point
$198
Digital Prints (12 x 22 in)
Land 3
Land 3
$254
Digital Prints (19 x 20 in)
Histoire de la fièvre
Histoire de la fièvre
$94
Collage (12 x 16 in)
Narrative poem
Narrative poem
$94
Collage (12 x 16 in)
Valentin
Valentin
$209
Collage (17 x 23 in)
Sans titre 3
Sans titre 3
$331
Collage (17 x 23 in)
La caresse (astral body)
La caresse (astral body)
$276
Engraving (17 x 23 in)
Le baiser (astral body)
Le baiser (astral body)
$276
Engraving (17 x 23 in)
Le chagrin d'amour (astral body)
Le chagrin d'amour (astral body)
Sold
Engraving (17 x 23 in)

What they're saying: KAZoART Customers

Vincent Motron2  Fans

 

 
A propos

C'est la vue qui pense et qui ressent - Karel Teige

Mon travail est une conversation avec les images. Il questionne leur mystère. La méthode consiste à confronter un corpus hétérogène d'images provenant des supports imprimés les plus communs (magazines, cartes postales, photographies vernaculaires, illustrés, etc).
 De travailler à disloquer leur cohérence interne, de s'attarder sur une texture, de se laisser convaincre par une trame d'impression. Opérer par glissement sémantique et discontinuité visuelle, créer une tension critique entre l'immédiateté de la forme et sa richesse polysémique.

Le tissage de ces écarts forment la structure de la mise en scène d'une proposition visuelle dont les lignes de force, l'agencement des formes et l'aménagement des signes organisent l'intégrité. Au bout du processus créatif se trouve un dispositif qui voudrait stimuler le regard avant de flatter l'oeil, et dont l'usage serait un échange de pensées et de sensations.

A la notion de collage, je préfère celle de montage. Elle décrit mieux ma manière de travailler et mes objectifs résumés par ce mot de V. Amiel : "C'est la valeur même des images qui est modifiée par leur proximité" (Esthétique du montage). En outre, le concept de montage laisse entendre une distance avec le collage telle que celle qui éloigne photographie et peinture. C’est pourquoi mon geste aura une plus grande affinité avec Hannah Höch, Max Bucaille ou Toshiko Okanoue qu’avec les collages de Picasso, Matisse ou Schwitters.

 
Formation

Vincent Motron fréquente les images avec assiduité depuis longtemps. En plus d'avoir pris quelques leçons d'art plastique, il a étudié l'histoire de l'art et la science des bibliothécaires et des archivistes. Il a aussi été iconographe et graphiste.
Actuellement, il vit sur la côte ouest française à quelques encablures de l'océan.

 
Expositions

2013 - Starter Gallery - Paris

2014 - Salon d'Art Abordable - Paris

Oeuvres (11)