Fabrice Martinez

Fabrice Martinez

17 fans

Ajaccio (20), France
8 works

Bitten by the demon of painting from his earliest childhood, Fabrice Martinez has never let go of his brushes since. Self-taught and passionate, he made a passage to the Faculty of Fine Arts of Aix-en-Provence, but his favourite school remained the one of the street: he rediscovered street art in the heart of the 2000s and fully committed himself to this artistic path.

His works on canvas explore the imagination of planetary icons that have survived through time while preserving their aura of magic and glamour. His predilection goes to the art of portraiture, which he practices with a mixture of purity and expressionism: his strokes and colours concentrate on the essential to release full emotions. But this marked stylization is associated with a delicate care given to the nuances and the material. By affixing compresses, coupled with a work of painting with a knife, he gives his canvases effects of relief, drape, wear: a carnal dimension that is not unlike that of a cracked wall that could be caressed at will.

Claiming cross-influences of street and pop art (Keith Haring, Banksy, Warhol...) or figures of inventiveness and mastery such as Dali or Matisse, Fabrice Martinez conceives painting as a machine to travel in time, in search of the sensations vanished from his childhood. His gallery of faces transports us into a fantasized time of carelessness, lightness and joy. A time, too, when the great figures of popular culture were not as sanitized as they are today, when one assumed one’s face and character.

Fabrice Martinez’s works, borrowed from an elegant vintage nostalgia, give new life to memories, to impressions buried in our memories or our imaginations.

Born in 1972, he lives and works in Corsica.

Bachelor of Fine Arts at the Faculty of Aix en Provence

2013: Expo Hussard Ajaccio. Expo GP Formula 1, Monaco, Expo Geneve ( Chez Marino)

2013: Expo from June to October " Galerie Sainte Colombe " Saint Paul de Vence

2013-2014: Permanent exhibition "Espace Santunioni" Ajaccio

2014: Gallery 109, Bastia

2014: Ajaccio Contemporary Art Fair at the Hussar

2014: Expo Espace Pierre Farel, Ajaccio

2015: Espace Cardin, Paris

2015: Gallery Number 1, Paris

2016: Dian’Arte Museum, Bastia; Lazaret, Ajaccio

Fabrice Martinez's artwork

Virna lisi
Virna lisi
$2,032
Acrylic painting (70 x 70 cm)
Bowie
Bowie
$3,839
Acrylic painting (97 x 130 cm)
James
James
$1,694
Acrylic painting (60 x 60 cm)
A mamma
A mamma
$2,032
Acrylic painting (73 x 60 cm)
Romy
Romy
$2,032
Acrylic painting (70 x 70 cm)
Madonna
Madonna
$2,935
Acrylic painting (81 x 65 cm)
Norah
Norah
$2,484
Acrylic painting (80 x 80 cm)
Liz
Liz
Sold
Acrylic painting (70 x 70 cm)

What they're saying: KAZoART Customers

Fabrice Martinez2  Fans

 

 
A propos

Mordu par le démon de la peinture dès sa plus tendre enfance, Fabrice Martinez n’a plus lâché ses pinceaux depuis. Autodidacte passionné, il effectue un passage à la Faculté d’Arts Plastiques d’Aix-en-Provence, mais son école de prédilection reste celle de la rue : il redécouvre le street art au cœur des années 2000 et s’engage pleinement dans cette voie artistique.

Ses travaux sur toile explorent l’imaginaire des icônes planétaires qui ont traversé le temps en préservant leur aura de magie et de glamour. Sa prédilection va à l’art du portrait, qu’il pratique avec un mélange d’épure et d’expressionnisme : ses traits et couleurs se concentrent sur l’essentiel pour dégager des émotions pleines. Mais cette stylisation marquée est associée à un soin délicat apporté aux nuances et à la matière. Par l’apposition de compresses, doublée d’un travail de la peinture au couteau, il donne à ses toiles des effets de relief, de drapé, d’usure : une dimension charnelle qui n’est pas sans rappeler celle d’un mur craquelé que l’on pourrait caresser à loisir.

Revendiquant des influences croisées de street et pop art (Keith Haring, Banksy, Warhol…) ou de figures d’inventivité et de maîtrise telles que Dali ou Matisse, Fabrice Martinez conçoit la peinture comme une machine à voyager dans le temps, en quête des sensations envolées de son enfance. Sa galerie de visages nous transporte dans un temps fantasmé d’insouciance, de légèreté et de joie. Un temps, aussi, où les grandes figures de la culture populaire n’étaient pas aussi aseptisées qu’aujourd’hui, où l’on assumait sa gueule et son caractère.

Les œuvres de Fabrice Martinez, empruntes d’une élégante nostalgie vintage, donnent une nouvelle vie aux souvenirs, aux impressions enfouies dans nos mémoires ou nos imaginaires.

Né en 1972, il vit et travaille en Corse.

 
Formation

Licence d'Arts plastiques à la faculté d'Aix en Provence

 
Expositions

2013 : Expo Hussard Ajaccio . Expo GP De formule 1 , Monaco, Expo Geneve ( Chez Marino)

2013 : Expo de Juin à Octobre « Galerie Sainte Colombe » Saint Paul de Vence

2013-2014 : Expo permanente “Espace Santunioni” Ajaccio

2014 : Gallery 109 , Bastia

2014 : Salon d’Art Contemporain Ajaccio au Hussard

2014 : Expo Espace Pierre Farel , Ajaccio

2015 : Espace Cardin , Paris

2015 : Galerie Numéro 1 , Paris

2016 : Musée Dian'Arte , Bastia ; Lazaret , Ajaccio

Oeuvres (13)