$15 off your first order with the code WELCOME15
Follow 7 fans
Paris (75), France
Carlos Jullian de la Fuente (1949) is from Chile, he arrived in France in 1969. Indeed, after a year at the Catholic University of Chile, he had decided to come for a 6-month internship with his brother architect who opened his office in Paris after working at Le Corbusier. Fascinated, he enrolled at the Ecole nationale supérieure d’architecture de Paris La Villette, to become an architect like his father and older brother. With his diploma in hand (1976), he gained experience with various architects before setting up his own business in the early 1980s. He mainly carries out public commissions such as the Centre d’entraînement du club Sochaux-Montbéliard in Seloncourt (2004), or the Centre de recherche in Pointe-à-Pitre (2008).
During his travels, especially in Italy, Carlos Jullian de la Fuente developed his taste for Italian squares and discovered the remarkable work of Carlo Scarpa. His work is also influenced by works that touch him, such as the convent of La Tourette by Le Corbusier (Eveux-Sur-Abresle), 1953-1960), the museum of prehistory by Roland Simounet (Nemours, 1979-1981), the Cistercian abbey of Le Thoronet (1146) and the embassy of Rabat by his brother Guillaume Jullian de la Fuente (1978). These references allow him to feed his reflection when he is in charge of designing an artistic project. The foundations of his work lie in geometry, proportions and course.
École Nationale Supérieure de Paris La Villette - UP6
Catholic University of Chile
Trajectories (Santiago de Chile, October 2015)